
An independent field guide
Order of the Sinking Star Guide
Find your next step: understand the puzzle rules, check your edition, and keep demo and full-game progress separate.
Different rules. Shared possibilities.
As described by the publisher.
Explore and solve at your own pace.
Every world changes
the way you think.
From Thekla and director Jonathan Blow comes a puzzle adventure built around discovery. Four worlds introduce their own rules, characters and ideas — then begin to overlap.
Use the field guide for the task you are facing: learn an ability, compare editions, recover a move or check a save boundary. Each article identifies the version its answer covers.
Browse the guide directoryYOUR NEXT QUESTION
A little direction.
A clearer next step.
Choose by task. Version notes distinguish historical demos, launch reports and official platform information.
SECTION 01
Puzzles
推进、试玩解谜与操作
- WalkthroughSolve the full game’s opening Mirror Isles region and its hub crossings.Full-game opening Mirror Isles; launch-period source scope, exact patch unknown · Puzzle solutions
- Demo walkthroughFollow the June demo's opening Warrior course and identify the remaining areas.June 15/19, 2026 Steam demo footage; exact build per edited room unspecified · Historical demo puzzle solutions
- Dragon puzzle helpMatch the mirror-and-dragon stamp stage or the historical two-hero button board.Full-game launch-period Heroes and Mirrors stamp stage; separate June-era community board · Dragon puzzle solutions; separate historical demo arrangement
- Getting startedUnderstand the four puzzle approaches, basic PC actions and ways to recover.Launch-period source descriptions; exact patch not specified · Premise
- Controls & button layoutFind the reported PC keyboard and Xbox-style controller defaults, plus source-scoped remapping limits.October 8 PC reference plus June/July demo declarations; exact patch unknown · No story spoilers
SECTION 02
Worlds & Clues
定位地图、角色、笔记和叙事
- World and region mapOrient yourself at the Crossroads, read map markers and match a region to its guide.Official prelaunch and launch-period full-game orientation; historical demo map evidence scoped separately · World names, map markers and covered region connections
- Characters & abilitiesCompare the documented hero powers, beam effects and naming differences.Pre-release demo and launch-period descriptions; exact patch not specified · Premise
- Story & mysteryUnderstand the Queen’s arrival and how dialogue, notes and world collisions reveal the mystery.Launch-era PS5 reviews and official premise; spoiler-light through the first endgame · Premise
- Length & completionSeparate first-ending reports, optional exploration and developer estimates for full completion.October 2026 full-game player reports and HLTB check; pre-release developer estimates kept separate · Premise
SECTION 03
Demos & Saves
获取试玩、识别终点、保留已有进度
- Demo accessCheck today’s public Steam route, the retained demo’s launch entry and its documented technical limits.Historical Steam demo; archived requirements checked against July 3, 2026 store capture and public access checked October 13 · No story spoilers
- Demo lengthCompare June-demo playtimes and check the reported completion counter.June 2026 Steam demo, before and after the June 19 expansion · Premise
- Cloud & cross-saveSeparate Steam device sync from console cloud backups and cross-platform transfer.October 2026 full-game cloud listings; June 2026 cross-platform reply · No story spoilers
SECTION 04
Play Options
版本、购买、性能和可访问性
- Platforms & editionsChoose between Windows, Switch 2, PS5, Steam Deck and cloud access.Full-release platform records checked October 13, 2026; no specific game patch tested · No story spoilers
- Nintendo Switch 2Check the digital edition, its three play modes, download size and save backup.US Switch 2 digital store record checked October 13, 2026; exact game patch unspecified · No story spoilers
- Switch 2 performanceCompare original TV and handheld impressions, with measured frame rate and patch effects still unresolved.Switch 2 launch-period evidence review through October 13, 2026; qualitative findings only · No story spoilers
- PS5 edition & store helpIdentify the official PS5 product and separate regional availability from a missing purchase button.US PS5 product and official account procedures checked October 13, 2026; no transaction performed · No story spoilers
- Mac compatibilityUse the confirmed cloud route and distinguish it from native support and community workarounds.Full-game native platform and cloud-service records checked October 13, 2026; compatibility-layer reports are configuration-specific · No story spoilers
- Performance & troubleshootingMatch platform reports to your setup, then check the documented Steam fixes for a specific fault.October 9 / 12 Steam fixes; full-game Deck review; historical June PC demo reports · No story spoilers
- PC requirementsCheck every published Windows requirement and the ambiguous recommended Nvidia model name.Full-game Steam Windows specification snapshot, October 13, 2026 · No story spoilers
- Steam Deck supportCheck Valve's compatibility result, the reported default settings and Steam-to-Steam save precautions.Valve compatibility checked October 13, 2026; full-game Deck review and October 9 / 12 Steam patch claims · No story spoilers
- Languages & subtitlesCheck text and voice support by platform, use the documented Steam language setting and understand subtitle limits.Platform/region storefront declarations checked October 13; June demo settings, October 8 Chinese VO plan and October 12 Steam timing fixes separated · No story spoilers
- Release date & timesRead the original launch clock and separate it from regional store dates.Historical October 2026 launch; regional records checked 2026-10-13 · No story spoilers
- Japan release & PLAYISMSeparate the Japanese console publishing plans from the available Steam game.Japan console and Steam records checked October 13, 2026; conflicting PS date field preserved · No story spoilers
- Price, bundles & buyingCompare dated US-dollar offers and choose the base game or a bundle you actually want.Public store and bundle offers checked October 13, 2026; account-dependent offers and final checkout totals excluded · No story spoilers
- Physical edition statusDistinguish confirmed digital editions from an undated retail placeholder.Physical-status records checked October 13, 2026; future retail plans unconfirmed · No story spoilers
SECTION 05
About the Game
评价、制作渊源、演员与音乐
- Reviews & receptionCompare critics' reasons for liking or tiring of the game, with platform and preview limits kept visible.Launch-period full-game reviews; June demo preview kept separate; scores captured October 13, 2026 · Premise
- Developer & design historyIdentify Thekla, Jonathan Blow, regional publishers and the credited puzzle designers.Official launch-period credits and dated development sources; regional publishing scope · No story spoilers
- The Witness connectionCompare the creative connection and choose between line-panel discovery and character-driven grid puzzles.Official descriptions and developer design explanations; preview observations qualified · No story spoilers
- Mirror Isles & the foundationsSeparate the original game credits from the world's names and the new adventure's puzzles.Official foundation credits; September 23 labels reconciled with the October 8 official world rename · Premise and world names
- Voice actorsMatch the publisher's English cast credits to their roles, including Liam O'Brien as the Warrior.October 1, 2026 publisher cast sheet · Premise
- Soundtrack & trailer musicFind the official 20-track album, separate audio-team roles and identify the release-date trailer's attributed music.Official digital OST listing and attributed August 18 trailer discussion; checked October 13, 2026 · Place names in album titles
No guides match that title or task. Clear the filter to see the full directory.
Different worlds.
Connected possibilities.
New places bring new rules. The discovery is in seeing how they fit together.

In the castle courtyard.
Tiled spaces, characters and a turquoise glow.

Across the water.
Green islands and crossing paths of light.

Above the clouds.
Stone platforms, grassy tiles and movable blocks.

Between the towers.
A bright beam crosses the castle’s elevated paths.
Official promotional screenshots. View the game on Steam
Your adventure.
Your platform.
Find the official listing for the platform and region you use.
Store information checked October 13, 2026.
Windows · Steam Cloud · Achievements
US digital edition · TV, tabletop & handheld
US listing · One player · Offline play
Playing in Japan? PLAYISM handles Japanese console publishing. Check the regional announcement
Before you step in.
A few useful distinctions before you play.
How is it connected to Braid and The Witness?
They are earlier games from director Jonathan Blow. The official history describes that creative background, along with four foundational puzzle games. Those credits do not establish a story-sequel relationship.
Official game informationShould I follow demo instructions in the full game?
Keep the demo build and the full release separate. A route or stopping point from a demo does not establish the scope of the full game. Check the version a guide covers before following it.
Does Steam Cloud confirm cross-platform save transfer?
Steam lists Steam Cloud for the PC edition. That listing does not confirm progress transfer to PlayStation 5 or Nintendo Switch 2, or whether a demo save carries over.
Steam features